Charleston Hotel on Ryan Street
The Charleston Hotel, c. 1929 The Charleston Hotel was recognized as a Landmark during the annual meeting of the Calcasieu Historical Preservation Society held Jan 24, 2013.
Charleston Hotel on Ryan Street Read More »
The Charleston Hotel, c. 1929 The Charleston Hotel was recognized as a Landmark during the annual meeting of the Calcasieu Historical Preservation Society held Jan 24, 2013.
Charleston Hotel on Ryan Street Read More »
The Leland H. Moss House, c 1883 530 Mill Street, known as the Leland H. Moss House, was declared a Landmark property at the January 24, 2013 annual meeting of the Preservation Society. Landmark Chair A.C. Boudier is shown below presenting the plaque to the owner, Tanis.
The George Samuel Kreeger House, c. 1905 was awarded a Landmark Plaque to the current owners, Tammy and Billy Edwards during the Jan 18th, 2012 annual CHPS meeting. The three story, three bed room, 2.5 bath American Foursquare is believed to have been built in 1905 for St. Patrick Hospital’s first Anesthesiologist, Dr. George Samuel
905 Kirby, Tammy and Billy Edwards Read More »
903 Broad, owned by Samantha and Randy LeJeune was awarded a Landmark plaque for 2011 during CHPS annual meeting on Jan 18, 2011. Chester Brown House 903 Broad Street c. 1904. The research for this house is fascinating. The Great Fire of 1910 has made it very difficult to look back for early Lake Charles
903 Broad, Samantha and Randy LeJeune Read More »
There is only one home over 50 years old in Margaret Place still owned by the original family! Mike Clooney, the third generation owner, received the coveted Landmark plaque for the home at 112 Grove Street. The Thomas J. Clooney House 112 Grove Street c. 1913 This very fine bungalow was built in 1913 at
112 Grove Street, Mike Clooney Read More »
SACRED HEART/ST. KATHARINE DREXEL SCHOOL1100 MILL STREETC 1908 LC Catholic school receives Calcasieu Landmark Award BY JAMIE GAINES AMERICAN PRESS Sacred Heart of Jesus/ Saint Katharine Drexel School was recently recognized by the Calcasieu Historical Preservation Society with a Landmark Award. “The history of the school is unique in that the school opened its
Sacred Heart of Jesus/ Saint Katharine Drexel School Read More »
THE PERKINS-DUHON HOUSE401 PIne Street,C. 1893 This Queen Ann Revival was built in 1893 or 1894 by Dr. Allen J. Perkins,Jr., son of Allen Perkins of the Perkins Miller Lumber Company. The house sits on a 120 x 150 corner lot of Pine and Bilbo Streets. The house has had many owners and was purchased
The Perkins-Duhon House Read More »
For the renovation of the Cash and Carry at the corner of Enterprise Blvd and Broad, Lake Charles, Donna and Rick Richard. The Landry Gym and Bridge, Lake Charles “Lakeview” at 1501 Shell Beach Drive, Lake Charles, Shively and Gene Lampson. Not pictured, The Samuel J. Welsh House at 1404 Horridge Street in Vinton, Linda
The Landry Gym and Bridge, Lake Charles Read More »
“The Henning House”, c. 1911 has been awarded Landmark status. Also known as the Henning Cultural Center, this historic property features a variety of offerings to the public.
The Henning House, c. 1911 Read More »
City Hall now occupies what was once known as “The Pioneer Building”. The building now boasts the prestigious CHPS Landmark Plaque.
The Pioneer Building, c. 1949 Read More »